Gauteng captured the 55th South African Women’s Inter-Provincial in formidable style to end a nine-year winning drought, while Border mounted a spirited final round assault to claim the B Section title for a second successive year at Centurion Country Club.

“We are absolutely thrilled with this result,” said Gauteng A manager Gill van der Meulen.

“Not only did our A team march to an unbeaten victory, but our B side was equally impressive to seal a one-two finish for Gauteng.”

The 2006 champions obliterated Gauteng North B 8.5-0.5 in the first round and handed Gauteng North A an 8-1 hiding to remain in ascendancy in round two.

“The first two rounds were clinical, but their biggest test was playing their friends in the final round,” Van der Meulen said.

“Gauteng A won 6.5-2.5 against Gauteng B to remain unbeaten, but these girls are all such good friends. It was a challenge for all of them to switch from friends to rivals for the final match.

Ivanna Samu, Kaleigh Telfer, Woo-Ju Son, Eleonora Galletti , Kajal Mistry and Tash Carlsson represented Gauteng A.

“It was quite a marvellous experience to watch the tussle between our A and B teams and to see all that talent on display,” Van der Meulen said.

“We have a great depth of talent at Gauteng and this victory and our first and second finishes will go a long way in motivation and inspiring our juniors waiting in the wings.

“Our A team captain Tash Carlsson deserves a special mention. Tash is leaving TuksSport Golf Academy at the end of the year and going to compete in the United States. She showed maturity beyond her years to lead with grace and she will be dearly missed.

“The B Team and I would also like to salute Sheryl Matthews for her management and support.”

Gauteng - SA Womens IPT 2015 - Border
Border successfully defended their B Section title.

Meanwhile Boland pulled out all the stops to edge out Ekurhuleni 5-4 to win Division 2.

In the B Inter-provincial Border defeated Eastern Province 4.5-1.5 to celebrate their second podium finish this season after the same team staged a come-from-behind performance to lift the B Section title in the 72-Hole Teams Championship at East London Golf Club in May.

Demi Flanagan, Zethu Myeki, sisters Siviwe and Yolanda Duma and Minette Olivier represented Border.

A Section final log: 1 Gauteng A, 2 Gauteng B, 3 Gauteng North A, 4 Gauteng North B.
A Section division 2 final log: 1 Boland, 2 WP A, 3 Ekurhuleni, 4 KZN.
B Section division 1 final log: 1 Border, 2 Free State, 3 EP, 4 North West.
B Section division 2 final log: 1 Southern Cape, 2 Limpopo, 3 WP B, 4 Mpumalanga.