Sunday 25 October saw one of the best play-offs at Ruimsig Country Club at the annual Eagle Trophy tournament. The two day tournament commencing on Saturday 24 October welcomed a field of 98 keen players competing in a Betterball Medal format for the title of the 2015 Eagle Trophy champions.

Four betterball pairings tied on a nett score of 129, played a gruelling sudden death play-off. After a four hole play-off Les Ireland and Clyde Maule were the eventual champions of the Ruimsig Country Club Eagle Trophy. Maule said that people don’t realise how stressful a play-off can be and how much pressure is put on the players to perform.

2015-Eagle-Trophy-Champions,-Clyde-Maule-and-Les-Ireland“The four pairings involved in the play-off played exceptional golf over the two days,” notes Charles Jerrard, golf director at Ruimsig Country Club, “especially considering that the greens were playing fast and firm.”

Colin Smith and Dereck Dyason were runners-up, followed by Andre Strydom and Earl Saunders in third place. Notably, Gavin Martin and Robin Shuttleworth with a 63 nett on day one were awarded the best players on Saturday, and Mike van Heerden and Nardu Malherbe went on to be Sunday’s best players also having produced a 63 nett.

“The Eagle Trophy is always a well-supported event,” said Ireland. “I enjoy playing in the tournament as it is a good format which gives everyone the opportunity to succeed and play well.”

Ireland, playing off an 18 handicap, is testament to the fact that everyone has a chance to win and play well.