SAGA tournament round-up

Tshwane Junior Open champion Otto von Buynder.
Tshwane Junior Open champion Otto von Buynder.

Martin’s memories
ONE of famous entertainer Dean Martin’s signature songs was “Memories are Made of This” and it applied to another Dean Martin, the Dainfern golfer who scored a memorable win in the Limpopo Open at Koro Creek with an excellent 54-hole return of 206. Dainfern clubmate Matthew Spacey was runner-up on 207 with James du Preez Jnr (Pretoria CC) next best on 210, followed by Parkview’s Rupert Kaminski and Serengeti’s Marco de Beer on 213.

Otto wins at Pretoria CC
OTTO van Buynder (Blue Valley) edged out Keegan McLachlan (Silver Lakes) in extra time to win the Tshwane Junior Open at Pretoria CC after the pair had tied on 148. Alex van Wyk (Fancourt) and Slade Pickering (Pecanwood) tied for third on 149.

Tie at the top in Potch
DAVID Muller of Glenvista CC and Louis Jonck of Irene shared first place on 141 in the North West Mid-Amateur at Potchefstroom GC, with four players – Christo Peens of the home club, Henk Geldenhuys of Fancourt, Douglas McCabe of Mooinooi and Patric Maichotlo (Klerksdorp) sharing third place on 144.

Cullen’s old magic
VETERAN Steve Cullen of White River won the Lowveld Mid-Amateur at Nelspruit GC on 142, with Andre Basson from the host club and Fancourt’s Henk Geldenhuys sharing second place on 146. Malelane’s Eddie Wilken and Barbeton’s Eric Sithole were next best on 147.



Teen star Herman
HERMAN Loubser from Boland club Theewaterskloof was in superb form in winning the Nomads SA Boys Under-17 on Randpark’s Bushwillow course on nine-under-par 279. Werner Deyzel (Woodhill) finished just one back on 280, with Guy Waterhouse (Modderfontein) and Dylan Mostert (State Mines) joint third on 283, followed by Wilco Nienaber (Bloemfontein GC) on 284.

Golden Gouden
ANUENI Gouden of Mount Edgecombe cruised to victory in the Inland Nomads Order of Merit event at Bryanston CC with a score of 141, three ahead of Dylan Mostert (State Mines) who was runner-up. Marco Steyn (Modderfontein) was third on 145, followed by Therion Nel (Bloemfontein GC) and Keegan McLachlan (Silver Lakes) on 146.