Team spirit, camaraderie behind WP Senior Amateur success

Dirk van der Merwe who tops the WP Senior Order of Merit.

WESTERN Province Senior Amateur golf is booming. No other union comes close to the success they have enjoyed over the last five years, with an impressive four out of five wins in the Senior Amateur Interprovincial, and a perfect five out of five record for the Super Seniors.

Tony Bailey, the enthusiastic and energetic president of the WP Seniors, sends out comprehensive newsletters throughout the year and in the 2015 Winter edition he writes: “For those who attended the AGM you would have heard my thoughts on why I believe, besides having good players, we have been winning our Interprovincial tournaments
for the past five years:

“We have developed a great spirit amongst our players and a genuine support for each other. We have bigger groups of players travelling to provincial tournaments and competing with other unions and socialising amongst the other players. This all brings a better spirit to our union and a genuine belief in
each other when we play as a team.”

Tony Bailey subsequently told tee and sandwedges that it wasn’t always like this, that seven years ago when he moved down from Gauteng to the Western Cape there wasn’t much team spirit and camaraderie. But this has changed and the birdie putts have been dropping like never before. “At the IPT it’s not a one-man show,” he says, “it’s an eight-man show.”

What also helps is the extremely popular monthly events held in WP which count towards the Order of Merit and provincial team selections, providing a highly competitive platform for the players as well as at the same time fostering this growing camaraderie . “The fields are full (A and B Section) every single month and we also try and accommodate players from the Boland.”

Of course, it helps to have a WP Senior committee who, as Tony says,
“will gladly take criticism and rectify any issues, if there are any.”

In the newsletter, Bailey also wrote of committee affairs:
“I would like to thank our outgoing members, Julian Visser, Tim Titus and Brian Zellie. Thankyou for your time and valuable contribution; it was a pleasure working with you guys. A big welcome to Craig Poulton and Peter Waison who join us on the committee. I’m sure we will have a good year and am excited at the prospect of new ideas.”

The WP Senior committee is: Tony Bailey (chairman), Ivan Palframan (WP representative on the national executive committee), John Winter (EXCO), Craig Poulton, Peter Waison and Eric Lefson (WPGU).

(top 20 as at August 1)

1 Dirk van der Merwe (Bellville),
2 Francois le Roux (Somerset West),
3 Craig Poulton (Mowbray),
4 Herman September (Mowbray),
5 Mark Hair (Somerset West),
6 Tim Hewan (Somerset West),
7 Andrew Cleophas (Durbanville),
8 Tony Bailey (Somerset West),
9 Brian Mampes (Parow),
10 Japie Koopman (Kuils River),
11 Peter van Coller (Strand),
12 Anton Bezuidenhout (Durbanville),
13 Ivan Palframan (Somerset West),
14 Julian Visser (Bellville),
15 Jonathan Hobday (Rondebosch),
16 David Ackermann (Royal Cape),
17 John Winter (Steenberg),
18 Hamish Longmore (Royal Cape),
19 William Hughes (Metropolitan),
20 Christopher Cottle (Rondebosch).

August 20 – Milnerton
September 10 – Arabella
October 8 – Bellville
November 12 – Kuils River
December 3 – Durbanville