Wild Coast Sun Challenge 2015

The Best Lady golfer, Thyna Subramoney with Pieter Hoffman, the Overall Winner.

The 26th annual Wild Coast Sun Challenge golf tournament took place in May. Once again, players from all over South Africa participated in this three-day prestigious amateur tournament, with its unique concept, where  golfing skills are tested over three days and on three courses, Southbroom, San Lameer and Wild Coast.

The format of the event is an individual Stableford and daily prizes were  allocated to 1st. 2nd and 3rd places of the A, B and C Divisions. Handicaps were adjusted after each round of play.

122 golfers participated in the event. Great prizes were again on offer with the overall winner of the Wild Coast Sun Challenge receiving a two night stay at Sun City during the 2015 Nedbank Golf Challenge, where his trophy will be presented to him again, by Danny Willett, the winner of the 2014 Nedbank Golf Challenge.

Pieter Hoffman, a  member at Zwartkop Country Club in Pretoria, was the overall winner with a score of 111 points over the three days. The Runner up was Reggie Anthony, member at University Golf Club on 109 points. Anthony’s prize is a complimentary golfer’s package to the 2016 Wild Coast Sun Challenge.

The great summer weather on the south coast in May, and the three golf courses which were in immaculate condition all contributed to an excellent tournament, enjoyed by all the golfers and their families.

We would like to thank all our sponsors for their generous contributions. The main sponsor, Klipdrift, provided the daily prizes and Klipdrift Premium welcome drinks at the dinner functions. Callaway and Odyssey hosted daily putting demo’s and sponsored a lucky draw Odyssey Hamper.  Enzo Coppola sponsored the trophies, and Sir Juice, Aquelle,  Bos Ice Tea, Tigerbrands and PVM were product sponsors.
The best lady golfer was Thyna Subramoney, a member at Mount Edgecombe Country Club on 103 points.

Overall winner, Pieter Hoffman) with  Myan Moodley ( General Manager at  the Wild Coast Sun)
Overall winner, Pieter Hoffman) with
Myan Moodley ( General Manager at
the Wild Coast Sun)

Final Overall Results over the three days :

  • 1st: Overall winner – Pieter Hoffman (111 points)
  • 2nd: Reggie Anthony ( 109 points)
  • 3rd: Rajen Naidoo (108 points)
  • 4th: Mervin Mudaly (107 points)
  • 5th: Greg Eayrs (107 points)
  • 6th: Johan Geldenhuis (107 points)
  • 7th: Larry Southwood (107 points)
  • 8th: Yugesh Chetty (106 points)
  • 9th: Hugo van der Walt ( 105 points)
  • 10th: Keegan Reddy ( 104 points)

Myan Moodley, General Manager at the Wild Coast Sun, Fred Beaver, Wild Coast Sun Golf Pro and Desiree Heine, Sports and Promotions, event organiser, look forward to welcoming everyone back to the Wild Coast Sun Challenge 2016.

The event will be held from Sunday 22 May – Wednesday 25 May 2016.